

Joint Select Committee on Land and Physical Infrastructure (including Land, Agriculture, Marine Resources, Housing, Public Utilities, Transport and Works)

SUMMARY OF PUBLIC HEARING

held on Tuesday May 03, 2016

An Inquiry into Land Tenure Issues in Trinidad and Tobago

1. Meeting

1.1 A public meeting was held on Tuesday May 03, 2016 from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon at the J. Hamilton Maurice Room at the Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

2. Attendance

- 2.1 The following Members of the Committee were present:
 - Mr. Stephen Creese (Chairman)
 - Mr. Rushton Paray, MP (Vice-Chairman)
 - Mr. Daniel Solomon
 - Mr. Franklin Khan
 - Mr. Darryl Smith, MP
 - Mr. Hafeez Ali

3. Entities

3.1 The following representatives from the following Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries appeared before the Committee:

• Mrs. Joy Persad-Myers Permanent Secretary (Ag)

• Mr. Clyde Watche Commissioner of State Lands (Ag)

• Mr. Nasser Abdul Director of Surveys (Ag)

Mrs. Jacqui Ganteaume-Farrell Coordinator, Agricultural Land Administration

Division

Ms. Alison Rivers-Burklies
Ms. Natasha Hosein
Director, Human Resource
Director, Legal Services

4. Key Issues Discussed

- (i) Issues faced by the Ministry and initiatives to deal with these challenges.
- (ii) Programmes and incentives for young individuals to enter the food production sector.
- (iii) The number of squatting matters before the Magistrates' Court.

- (iv) The number of the backlog of applications for agricultural lands.
- (v) Data collection done by the Ministry.
- (vi) Achievements of the Ministry in relation to the National Spatial Development Plan.
- (vii) Aligning the Ministry's regional offices to reflect Municipal boundaries.
- (viii) The number of farmers squatting.
- (ix) Whether funding from the Agricultural Development Bank is accessible to farmers without land tenure.
- (x) Whether any other jurisdictions had similar land tenure issues and the action taken to remedy these issues.

5. View the Hearing:

The hearing can be viewed on our YouTube page via the following link: https://youtu.be/RbZcMY1qQ-o

6. Contact Information:

You may contact the Committee's Secretary at <u>jsclpi@ttparliament.org</u> or 624-7275 Ext. 2828/2284.

Committees Unit Tuesday May 03, 2016